microthrills's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

People are strange, when you're a stranger.

This morning I did something out of character and it felt great.

I talk to strangers all day long for work. I meet new people every day. As an interpreter, I become a new person every time a client walks into my office. I learn intimate details of strangers through all this interaction and my personality, my voice, my likes and dislikes fade away and become secondary.

This morning as I sat on the subway, I was mentally preparing myself for my first appointment. I looked up and saw a man sitting across from me, reading Othello, my favourite play.

I got it in my head that I wanted to talk to this person, for whatever reason. He made eye contact once, twice, three times.

Oh, it's on.

"That's my favourite play!"

I point. He smiles.

"Oh yeah, it's mine too."

And just like that, we started a conversation. When I stood to get off the train, he did too.

"Can I buy you a cup of coffee?"

But we both looked down to the cup I already had in my hand.

"Next time then."

He gave me his contact information and walked me to the door of my office building and left. All this, before 10am.

I need to do things like this more. Not collect guy's numbers but initiate conversations with people instead of waiting for them to choose me.

11:33 p.m. - 2009-11-16

0 comments so far

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

omfggwtf
deepest-blue
redsilk
cellini
englishsucks
idontpretend
drugzilla
sidewaysrain
home-of-d
secret-motel
fuck--that
raven72d
androidtomat
bindyree
kristintracy
old-story
sexyatheist
dullstar
jimbostaxi